Reviews

38 Reviews - RealSelf  (See More Reviews)
5.0
Review from M. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 09, 2018
29 Yr Old Two Kids - Houston, TX - Very honest and realistic. Not just out for extra money. He actually persuaded me to not get implants which could have made him more money!! Very genuine, and staff is excellent!!! Definitely recommend him!!
5.0
Review from I. - Source: RealSelf - Jul 19, 2017
MiraDry Works! - My nurse, Bianca, was very nice. She explained everything step by step. Also gave me instructions of what to do when I get home. I used ice packs that she provided, for 24 hours and never had to take any pain pills.
5.0
Review from C. - Source: RealSelf - Mar 18, 2017
Neck and Facelift. Upper and Lower Eyes - Houston, TX - In my opinion he is the best in Houston with a wonderful reputation.
5.0
Review from I. - Source: RealSelf - Nov 16, 2016
Best decision you will make! - Houston, TX - This was the best decision that I could have made for myself. I always knew I would get a tummy tuck done. What I didn't know was, where and with who. Dr. Patronella & his amazing staff, made me feel like family. The results are beyond what I expected. Dr. Patronella is a miracle worker. I love my abdomen. Thank you Dr. P.
5.0
Review from S. - Source: RealSelf - Sep 11, 2016
Amazing Doctor! - Houston, TX - Amazing, personable, funny and calming demeanor.
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - May 23, 2016
Small B Cup to Full C Cup - Houston, TX - Dr P is professional, funny, and been in practice for a long time (again my first procedure with him was 16 years ago). Dr P was an established dr 16 years ago too. I've recommended him to many ppl, 3 of which have had amazing boobs because of him.
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - May 09, 2016
29 Y/o 3 Kids Via Csection Tummy Tuck, Body Lift, Breast Lift and Augmentation - Houston, TX - I have has a phenomenal experience so far. The staff is attentive, Dr.Patronella knowledgeable with very good bedside manner. Eva the patient coordinator is accessible friendly and very helpful
5.0
Review from M. - Source: RealSelf - Apr 03, 2016
37 Years Old Looking for the Overhaul. TT, LBL, BA, BBL, lipo. Houston, TX - I felt like Dr. Patronella really had a "whole torso" vision for what would be the best results. I know my personality and I would definitely be the kind that would be "disappointed" with a flat butt once my stomach was flat, for instance, so I really appreciated his approach. I love his work and I think his technique gives really natural, really feminine results, which is exactly what I'm going for.
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 14, 2016
44 Yo, with Bilateral Incapsulated Gel Implants. Implant Revision Done. 5'8", 180#, Athletic Build. - Houston, TX - Dr Patronella is a talented surgeon with an eye for the female body. He is able to look at your body and see where the curves should be, able to see how the curves have changed due to weight gain/loss, child birth, or maybe you just never had it to begin with.... Or the dreadful thing called effects of aging. He make eye contact with you. Talks WITH you, not AT you. Answers concerns truthfully, not just what you want to hear. His asst Ava is a doll. She is sweet and very helpful, also a wealth of information. He supplies you with your garment for aftercare. And even has a nurse come to your home or hotel for your first dressing change and education for you and or your caretaker. Real upscale concierge service! Highly recommended
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Jun 27, 2015
32 Year Old 34A to 371cc Allegran Natrella Implants - Houston, TX - I Love, Love, Love Dr. P!!! He isn't just a surgeon but an artist as well. He noticed more about my body than any other doctor. I've had numerous friends use him and all of them are happy with their results. He and his staff go way above to make you feel comfortable. I am so pleased with my results. He really listened to what I wanted and gave me the desired results I wanted. I even received a phone call from the doctors himself 10 mins after I called for a nurse after hours. He is wonderful! I've recommended him to two family members and all my friends looking to have some work done.
5.0
Review from B. - Source: RealSelf - May 21, 2015
39, 5 Kids, Getting BA with 375/400cc Silicone, TT with Muscle and Hernia Repair and Hip/butt Lift - Houston, TX - Loving everything about Dr. Patronella and his office staff! I would highly recommend him to anyone!
5.0
Review from S. - Source: RealSelf - Mar 10, 2015
Abdominal Lipo, Flanks, Inner Thigh - Houston, TX - Dr. Patronella did a great job. Even though its only been 2 weeks I am so excited. My self esteem goes up everyday. Dr. P has great bedside manner...you dont feel rushed or pushed into anything. His staff is great and the price is fair..Thx Dr.P
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Mar 04, 2015
39 Year Old Mom of Triplets +1, So Glad I Did This, Highly Recommend Dr. Patronella - Houston, TX - Dr. Patronella and his entire staff are so warm, professional and thorough. Every person we spoke to was highly knowledgeable about any question I asked.I feel they go the extra mile with everything they do.I am so pleased with Mommy Makeover results 3 months post op. I have had no issues during recovery and can't believe how good everything looks. Dr. P is amazing!
5.0
Review from M. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 09, 2015
29 Yr Old Mom of 4 Getting a Mommy Makeover. Houston, TX - Dr. Patronella has been a great doctor and really has made this a much easier than expected process. Im very pleased with my results!
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Jan 28, 2015
32 Yrs Old, 2 Kids, Time for a New Tummy! - Dr. Christopher Patronella, Houston, TX - I feel like Dr. Patronella is not only great at what he does, but he is extremely friendly and honest about what you can expect from the procedure you choose. My personal results are even better than I thought they could be and I feel like it has totally changed my life! Highly recommend!
5.0
Review from F. - Source: RealSelf - Jul 23, 2014
33y/o, 2kids, 8 Hlf Marathons Done, and Currently in a Marathon to Heal. - Houston, TX - I love my PS. From day 1 we clicked. Very kind, good listener, bed side manners are top notch, he is the best and knows how the female body should curve. His staff follows in his suit. All my questions were answered at pre and post op. I am out of state and currently ph/email is how we communicate. They all made me feel like family. I feel I got the most bang for my buck. Loads of garments given, lots of medical supplies given, info on every week post surgery. I only had to purchase wipes, and antibacterial soap. Everything else was part of my pkg. Including the nurse home visit the day after my release from surgery center. I highly recommend you opt for the surgery center overnight. The nurses were amazing.
5.0
Review from K. - Source: RealSelf - Mar 13, 2014
Over 120 Lost And The Skin HAD To Go! - Officer, AU - Dr. P was absolutely fabulous. He comforted me, complimented me and guided me through a successful procedure and recovery. If I ever want/need more plastic surgery - he will be the man for the job, no doubt!
5.0
Review from H. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 11, 2014
20 Year Old: Best Life Decision/Feel Alive - Houston, TX - I'm going to 100% honest with who ever ends up reading this, from the pros to the cons.First off here a background of my situation:I am 20, i play college football and have had "man boobs" since i was 10. This is something 10 years of working out never fixed, i tried and when i tried to burn "fat" from my pecks it actually increased because my muscle size grow but the breast tissue continued outward with it. Anyways i finally saved up enough money to get this procedure done. Im not going to lie i was nervous to have them lipo plus make an incision to remove breast tissue. I decided to watch a video on youtube on how it was preformed, it made me want to just live with man boobs instead, but after learning about it i figured it would take two hours to give me back my man hood, which i honestly never had and that it would be worth it. Man was i right, since the surgery i have been able to wear what ever shirt i want without a undershirt, i feel like a man and every time i look down i see a defined athletic chest not a women chest! I can be harsh about my old me now because its exactly that the old me. Ill let you look at my pictures and you decide if its for youIf you have any questions ask em and ill tell you how it was for me. Heres some things to expect, you will have a bunch of drainage, nasty blood and liquids, swelling for 1-2 weeks after that makes you think you didn't even have surgery, the wrap and compression suit is annoying and itchy. But at 4 weeks i started working out and i had/have scar tissue, they say it takes 6months to a year to fully go away. I have "puncture" scars but hard to tell from a distance up close it looks like scars from acne but i haven't had anyone ask yet. Overall best investment i have ever made. Very confident know and happy, i have about 100 shirts i wear now that i have been given and could never wear.
5.0
Review from H. - Source: RealSelf - Sep 28, 2013
I am 50 years old. - Tummy Tuck - Houston, TX - Dr. P is the greatest!
5.0
Review from L. - Source: RealSelf - May 01, 2013
Implant revision/crease tacking -700HP Houston, TX - Dr. Patronella is an amazing doctor. Not only is he a brilliant surgeon, but he really takes time to listen to his patients. He always placed my goals as priorities and I always felt he valued what I had to say. He combined my goals with his tremendous expertise and gave me EXACTLY what I was looking for and so much more. I never dreamed my results would be this wonderful!!! I wish I would have found him when I first moved to Houston.
5.0
Review from M. - Source: RealSelf - Jan 30, 2013
MM with Breast Aug, Modified Tummy Tuck, Inner Thigh, Flank, Back, and Bra Line Lipo with Fat Graft to Butt - Houston, TX - Dr P came as a recommendation from several friends he had worked on. His bedside manner was top-notch and he never appeared to be rushed. I asked a lot of technical questions which he handled beautifully and he was very fair with pricing for add on procedures.
5.0
Review from U. - Source: RealSelf - Nov 14, 2012
Post Op 11 weeks - still swelling dammit!!! TT/MR/Lipo and Hip Lift 11/26/12 - My sister has had a tummy tuck, lipo and some work done on her face with this provider. He is very well known in our location and his facility is full of lovely staff that made me feel comfortable from the get-go.
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Oct 02, 2012
1/31/14 marked 1 year since my Mommy Makeover,revision was 12/12/13 ...pics...Houston, TX - I found Dr. Patronella while researching online. I wanted to make sure I had the perfect Dr. after waiting so long to have this surgery done. After talking on the phone,doing online consults & in person consults with several drs I just knew he was the one for me & thankful my husband felt the same way. I never felt rushed,ignored,or uncomfortable.He was very detailed in answering questions. During evaluations he was through & actted genuinely concerned & interested in my questions & in my care. He has a very caring & qualified staff. I would highly recommend him!! - - I have been wanting this for years...after a natural birth,a c-section & a laparscopic assisted hysterectomy I'd like to get rid of the pooch,fat & scars as well as have my tummy flat,my breast back close to where they should be & feel comfortable in my skin again. I thought I had a Dr picked but after several talks,emails & an online consult I dont know....the price went from $12,000-14,000 then to $14,000-16,000 then once I sent pics for consult it went to $16,000-19,000. Thats for lipo of the chin,abs,flanks,lower back,full tummy tuck & breast lift or lift w/reduction...never addressed the thighs & hasnt seen me in person (suppose to go in Nov) & didnt answer any questions I sent w/the pics...totally discouraged & confused! Does anyone have an opinion on the price or a great Dr in the Houston or San Antonio area? Do any of you Drs have an opinion on what I should have done?....Thanks!!
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Oct 02, 2012
Mommy Makeover 1/31/13,1st revision 12/12/13,2nd revision 1/5/15....pics...Houston, TX - I found Dr. Patronella while researching online. I wanted to make sure I had the perfect Dr. after waiting so long to have this surgery done. After talking on the phone,doing online consults & in person consults with several drs I just knew he was the one for me & thankful my husband felt the same way. I never felt rushed,ignored,or uncomfortable.He was very detailed in answering questions. During evaluations he was through & actted genuinely concerned & interested in my questions & in my care. He has a very caring & qualified staff. I would highly recommend him!! - - I have been wanting this for years...after a natural birth,a c-section & a laparscopic assisted hysterectomy I'd like to get rid of the pooch,fat & scars as well as have my tummy flat,my breast back close to where they should be & feel comfortable in my skin again. I thought I had a Dr picked but after several talks,emails & an online consult I dont know....the price went from $12,000-14,000 then to $14,000-16,000 then once I sent pics for consult it went to $16,000-19,000. Thats for lipo of the chin,abs,flanks,lower back,full tummy tuck & breast lift or lift w/reduction...never addressed the thighs & hasnt seen me in person (suppose to go in Nov) & didnt answer any questions I sent w/the pics...totally discouraged & confused! Does anyone have an opinion on the price or a great Dr in the Houston or San Antonio area? Do any of you Drs have an opinion on what I should have done?....Thanks!!
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Oct 02, 2012
Today marks 3yrs! Mommy Makeover 1/31/13,1st revision 12/12/13,2nd revision 1/5/15....pics...Houston, TX - I found Dr. Patronella while researching online. I wanted to make sure I had the perfect Dr. after waiting so long to have this surgery done. After talking on the phone,doing online consults & in person consults with several drs I just knew he was the one for me & thankful my husband felt the same way. I never felt rushed,ignored,or uncomfortable.He was very detailed in answering questions. During evaluations he was through & actted genuinely concerned & interested in my questions & in my care. He has a very caring & qualified staff. I would highly recommend him!!
5.0
Review from 5. - Source: RealSelf - Sep 11, 2012
Loving my Tummy Tuck! - Houston, TX - My Dr. gets a 5-star because he was honest about what he could do for me and his work lived up to it. His office staff is very professional and appear to be well trained in customer services and communication amongst each other throught the different departments, i.e., surgery education, nursing, appointments, payments, etc.My Dr. was referred to me by other women who had surgeries with him. Over the period of about a year and a half, I heard the stories of 4 or 5 different women who had surgery with my Dr. or one of his partners. All of their stories had positive outcomes and they looked great!
5.0
Review from C. - Source: RealSelf - Sep 07, 2012
Abdominalplasty and Liposuction. Would I Do It Again? And Who Would I Pick? - Houston, TX - As for me, I believe it was worth it. I had the VERY BEST DOCTOR and if I were to choose again, it would be him. I was supplemented with vitamins and supplements prior to the surgery (and to be continued after surgery to speed up the healing process). I was cared for well throughout my surgery. I stayed overnight at the surgical facility with good nursing staff. Part of my doctor's "after surgery package", is to provide his patient with a homehealth visit by a nurse (who was very skilled and attentive). Furthermore, I continue to follow up in clinic with him. (Again I am less than 2 weeks after having had surgery done).As a physician, I was looking for a physician who had it all: excellent bedside manners, great skills, great personality; and Dr. Patronella has it all.
5.0
Review from K. - Source: RealSelf - Aug 27, 2012
Could not be happier with my results - Fantastic! - Houston, TX - A friend of mine recommended Dr. P to me and I will forever be grateful. Dr. P and his staff was everything and more that friend said they were. I am very pleased and so happy that I made that first appointment! I found Dr. P as a result of needing a revision surgery from another doctor. His bedside manner is wonderful and his honesty is greatly appreciated. Dr. P helped me determine what needed to be done in order to achieve the best results for my situation. I was very reluctant and concerned, however Dr. P was there for me emotionally, was able to calm my fears and help me face this minor set back head on. I am grateful for his professionalism and appreciate everything he and his staff provided me with before, during, and after the procedure. I am 8 months post op and could not be happier with my results. I would highly recommned Dr. P to anyone!!!! He is the best!
5.0
Review from A. - Source: RealSelf - Jul 31, 2012
Beautiful Results! 6 Weeks Out - Houston, TX - After much time spent researching doctors in my region, Dr. Patronella was the obvious choice. If you can make the trek to Houston, go see him! Dr. Patronella is fabulous! I cannot emphasize just how happy I am with my breast augmentation and I'm only 6 weeks out. After nursing two children, I wanted to feel beautiful again- he made it happen! I am so grateful I did my homework and opted to pay a little more and even travel out of state to have him be my surgeon (I live in Louisiana).Dr. Patronella is worth every penny!
5.0
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Apr 12, 2012
Amazing Doctor!!! - Houston, TX - His bedside manner is awesome! Always listens and addresses my concerns. Staff is amazing, both in the surgery center and the clinic!
5.0
Review from D. - Source: RealSelf - Apr 11, 2012
"I Look Great in my Jeans!" - Houston, TX - When you enter Dr. Patronella's office, you know right away this feels right and you will see for yourself his professionalism, expert knowlege and proven skill creates a package of success all wrapped up with a warm, friendly smile! I can attest to having wonderful results with several procedures with Dr. Patronella.One procedure I love to talk about is my tummy tuck. After 8 years I can still show off my flat, tight tummy and even if I say so myself, I look great in my jeans!
4.0
Review from L. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 21, 2013
1 yr 2.5 months post tummy tuck - Houston, TX - I'm 5' 5", 130 lbs, 2 children both by C-section. Same story as most. My first pregnancy gave me stretch marks and a really ugly stretch mark where my belly button piercing was. After my first baby I lost all the weight plus 10 lbs and my stretch marks were so light and my belly was flat. I can wear a bikini again right? Nope, because of my belly button a bikini was out. My second pregnancy I gained the exact amount of weight as the last, 47 lbs, but this time it was all in my belly not everywhere like the last one. I still have not got back down to 125 lbs and I could tell right away that I was never going to have a flat stomach again. That was 3 years ago.I felt so happy and confident after my first child even with my stretch marks. I have never been confident. I was very happy. The second pregnancy was tough and I have struggled the last 3 years to just feel like myself again, mentally and physically. I finally gave in and got on wellbutrin and I am feeling normal again.My husband backs me up 100% on this decision he has been telling me since last year that we can do this whenever I want. Just go for it. I have held off though and I'm glad I did because after a year and half of researching doctors I am positive I found the ONE. His tummy tucks looks natural with curves and a realistic looking bellybutton. I was really worried about having a long scar but I think he is going to put it so low that it wont even matter. Especially if it heals the way my last c-section did, its almost invisible.Anyway, I'll put up my before pictures and in 11 days I'll be on the flat side, as they say. I'll try to update ASAP but I don't know when ill be able to get to the computer to put up pictures. ( so annoying that you cant post from a device!)Also I just want to say thank you to the girls with the same doctor that have posted there pictures and experience on here. It has been a huge comfort and very reassuring. I'm actually for the first time excited, instead of nervous, scared and feeling guilty.Oh and a few months ago a bartender (female) at a place we like to hang out, when we get a rare chance, asked if I had another bun in the oven. Yeah I'm ordering a drink but I'm pregnant!!!!! I had just lost 15 lbs too. 🙁 Ugh spent the whole night holding my stomach in. Every time I feel like I shouldn't do this I think of that.
Patient Story
Review from M. - Source: RealSelf - May 26, 2016
33 Years Old, 3 Kids, Tired of Looking Pregnant. Breast Augmentation, Tummy Tuck with Muscle Repair - Houston, TX - Busy mom of 3. Ages 4, 2, and 8 months. First pregnancy I gained 75 pounds. My baby was 10 pounds 12 ounces. That seperated my stomach muscles. The next 2 pregnancies were supported by my skin. The after math is a protruding abdomen that looks 4 months pregnant. I literally get asked every couple weeks if I am expecting. Even wearing 2 spanx and not having a bite to eat I still get asked if I am pregnant! My breast are deflated with no upper volume. I have what I call "bottom boobs." I nursed all 3 of my kids 6 months and they all preferred one side making me disproportionate. I am 5 ft 2 in and I am at my prepregnancy weight of 128. I would like to loose a few more pounds before surgery but that date is creeping up quick! I am a nurse, on my feet a lot so working out has been a challenge as I am so tired when I'm finally done with 12hr shift that often turns to 14 hours. I don't eat terrible but I could def improve. It's hard to feel motivated because no amount of exercise improved the way I look. I am very ready to feel and look normal again!! I just don't want to look pregnant!! I'll post pics once I'm closer to my surgery date which is only a few weeks away.
Patient Story
Review from J. - Source: RealSelf - Feb 24, 2015
35 Years Old, 3 Kids, Mommy Makeover - Houston, TX - Dr. Patronella is everything a talented and caring plastic surgeon should be.
Patient Story
Review from C. - Source: RealSelf - Sep 05, 2014
Finally Decided to Take the Plunge at 58! Houston, TX - My stomach has been bothering me for about 5 yrs. It got worse after menopause, then I have a back injury and couldn't exercise for almost a year, so now I've decided to go ahead and have a TT and some lipo. I won't lie, I'm really nervous about it. I am going to a dr. that is 12 hours away and that also makes me nervous, because #1 I'm so far away if any problems come up and #2 we have to drive back 2 weeks after the surgery, and will have to stop often so I can walk to keep any blood clots from forming. My age makes me a little nervous too. I'm healthy though and not overweight, and believe I'm a good candidate for the surgery. I won't see the dr until the day before the surgery. Anyone else decide to do this at this advanced age?
Patient Story
Review from T. - Source: RealSelf - Mar 30, 2014
I did it!!! Finally in boobieville! 260 cc HP silicone! - Hey ladies! ive been browsing these boards for a while now and ive decided to make an account and share my experience. so far, i have a consultation with my PS scheduled for april the 22nd. i am very excited, nervous and kinda scared. just this past month is when i really started to get serious about this whole breast augmentation thing. ive always known i wanted boobies, but i kept telling myself they would grow bigger bc other ppl in my family have fairly large breasts asside from my mom who has a cup size bigger than me. right now the only ppl that know about my decision is my mom, fiancee, and afew close friends. everyone is rly supportive except for my mom bc shes not a fan of "something foreign being in your body". i told her ive done extensive research and all in all "im gonna do what i want" hahah. right now im a 32A/ maybe B in some bras. i do like the shape of them and i like how bouncy they are, but frankly im tired of wearing padded bras. im only 5 foot and about 95 pounds. ppl say i look like im 16 when im really 23. :/ and having no boobs definitley doesnt help my case lol.im thinking i want to be a full B or small C. i still want to look natural not OMG THAT GIRL GOT A BOOB JOB look. like every other girl wanting breast augmentation, i just want to feel sexy, more womanly, and more confident. and damnit, if bigger boobs will get me there, ill do it. ;Dtheres not too many ppl i can talk to about this too, so ill need everyones support! my fiancee is supportive, but he says he loves me for how i am ya ya... he just says if it makes me happy then do it.
Patient Story
Review from J. - Source: RealSelf - Jan 13, 2014
37 Years Old, 4 Kids and Much Need It a Mommy Makeover - Houston, TX - Love Dr. Patronella and the staff they are awesome!
Patient Story
Review from G. - Source: RealSelf - Aug 18, 2008
Definitely Worth Doing!! - You can read my background under the SmartLipo review.Because I was so thin and athletic, I had pitifully small breasts.  Nobody ever complained, but I felt like my clothes didn't fit properly and hated bikini season (even though the rest of me looked great, I always had to use a padded top). In June 2004, between job changes and interstate moves, I decided to finally have this done.  I had spent several weeks researching saline implants, lived on the message boards and asked questions, then researched the various surgeons in Texas who could do it.  I chose mine based on his before and after photos, and I'm glad I did.  You really need to see the work that person has performed in the past and remember that NOBODY ever gives a bad reference in their resume (even you readers).  If the doc's before and after photos don't look so hot, remember that those were their BEST results!!CONSULTATION:  I sent photos and background info via email to the surgeon I chose in Houston.  We had a telephone conference as well to get on the same sheet of music regarding my expectations.  I flew in and had the procedure done the next morning after a brief in-person consultation to confirm.  During this consultation he took "before" photos and had me try on different implant sizes.  I brought a sweater and a workout top to try with the implants during this "fitting" to see how each one looks in a different type of top.  I liked the look of the 325s, but I FORGOT one important thing!!  In my excitement I forgot to ADD 25-50 ccs to the implant size that looked good at the fitting!  This is important when you go submuscular (under the muscle) because you lose about that much volume with the implant getting squished under the muscle.  So they don't look the way they did at the fitting but they are a LOT larger than before!THE PROCEDURE:  I had general anesthesia for the surgery.  I only remember them giving me something "to relax" right before, then I was on the table and I remember someone joking about using 500s.  Next thing I remember I was waking up post-op.  Mine were Mentor 325s overfilled to approx. 345 cc.  Honestly, they discharged me too soon because I still had the shakes from the anesthesia.  My chest was wrapped in an ACE bandage with my new LARGER sports bra over it.  There was tape over my incision sites.  When I got to my hotel room (luckily someone was there to drive me) I passed out from too much anesthesia still in my system.  The pain meds made me nauseated, so I had to take Zofran (prescription) to keep from vomiting.  I was really jazzed up with excitement about having it done, and had a hard time sleeping that first night.POST OP DAY 1:  A nurse came to my hotel room to take the ace bandage off and show me how to massage.  She stressed that I need to massage DAILY to keep the implants from hardening (from scar tissue) and that I needed to keep wearing a sports bra for a couple of weeks.  She checked my incision sites (a single 1.25" long incision in the crease under each) and said I was good to fly home the next day.  I went shopping immediately!!  I also went to dinner with a friend of mine that evening.POST OP DAY 2:  I flew home but still had a 1.5 hour drive to make.  By the time I got home I was swelled up like a vienna sausage and in a lot of pain.  I took my pain meds (hydrocodone) and crashed. POST OP DAYS 3-5:  I had significant abdominal swelling. In reality the fluid was supposed to be going to my chest area but you know how gravity works!  I had to take a lower dose pain med because the hydrocodone was making me sick.  I was supposed to avoid carrying anything heavier than 5 pounds for the next few weeks, but unfortunately I had a house-hunting trip that weekend in another state and so I broke that rule.  THAT WAS A MISTAKE.  See my notes for the reason.POST OP MONTHS 1-4:  I had my stitches out by another doc (local for me) after about 10 days, everything looked good.  I wore a sports bra for three weeks before transitioning into a regular one.  It really takes months for these things to settle into position, no joke.  After the first month things look decent, but you are still settling.  Massage is critical, I believe.  And even though you look like you don't need to wear a bra, WEAR ONE.  It helps.  I remember I could feel my new boobs pulling on my NECK skin, of all things! THE REST OF THE STORY:  Overall this was probably the single best investment I made.  It was a great confidence booster, and you just can't beat the new wardrobe that became essential post-op!  The profile you see in my profile photo is exaggerated due to the pose I had to assume for the Figure competition, but it gets the point across.  I am four years out and everything is fine with the exception of the possibility of a redo due to nerve entrapment.  When I was lifting those suitcases (and later, the boxes when moving) and breaking the "nothing over 5 pounds" rule, it appears I screwed up and injured myself and had additional scar tissue interfere with a nerve in the area just under my left breast, very close to the incision site.  For three years I couldn't bench press because of it, and to this day if I press that one pea-sized spot it will drop me like a water buffalo.  The doc also suggested a redo to silicone gel because when my body fat drops below 12% I get rippling pretty bad all around the underside.  We'll see.NOTES AND SUGGESTIONS:  Research the surgeons thoroughly, and pay attention to the photos!  To approximate what the implant will look like, buy the bra size you think you want to fill and use a baggie filled with rice (trick I learned on the message board).  No ibuprofen or similar drugs for 2 weeks prior to surgery to minimize bleeding.  Show the surgeon photos of what you like / don't like to give him or her a clear understanding of your goals.  HAVE REASONABLE GOALS!  Too big is obviously fake, unless that's what you want for the next few decades.  I went from an A to a large C / small D, which was borderline.  The bigger you go, the more you will feel the effects of this mass on your chest (and yes they WILL sag over time, mine have dropped about half an inch in four years).  That said, if you go submuscular to get the look you like when trying on implants you need to increase that size about 50ccs.  MASSAGE these babies daily for like at least three to four months if you want them to look and feel more natural and to help avoid a redo due to capsulized implants.  Wear the sports bra, the time does pass.  DO NOT LIFT ANYTHING HEAVIER THAN 5 POUNDS for the first few weeks, or whatever time frame your provider suggests.  They are not kidding.  I was lucky that all I had was a trapped nerve.  I could have bled out.  By the way, I've noticed when I'm in a cold place (skiing in Colorado, on a river in Alaska, etc) my implants feel like ice bags under my skin.  Makes me get cold easier, so I just wear an extra layer (like a down vest) to help minimize the effect.Most importantly, ENJOY them!  : )

Consultation

As Dr. Patronella's patient coordinator for nearly 20 years, Eva Cadena will work with you to ensure that your experience is professional, courteous, and rewarding in every way. Please call her with any questions you may have.

Schedule Now

Contact / Location

12727 Kimberley Lane, Ste. 300
Houston, TX 77024

Phone : (713) 799-9999

Get Directions